• Mahasamund district is spread out in an area of 4790 Sq. Kms in the Central-East of Chhattisgarh State. The district lies between 20°47' to 21°31'30'' latitude and 82°00' to 83°15'45'' longitude, surrounded by districts of Raigarh and Raipur of Chhattisgarh State and Nawapara and Bargarh of Orissa.  

    In infancy of district Mahasamund, there were six Thanas respectively Mahasamund, Tumgaon, Pithora, Basna, Bagbahra, and Saraipali. With time, to meet the standards of professional policing uniformly 04 sub-division, 12 Police stations and 05 out posts have been established.